New blog post at GUTS Magazine

I wrote about my experiences with workplace gender discrimination and harassment at GUTS Canadian Feminist Magazine. In the piece, entitled “Why Women Don’t Speak Out”, I explore the various forces that pressure women into staying silent about harassment, and why we need to break the silence:

The silence enables toxic work environments to continue unchallenged. For me, coming forward, speaking out, and identifying myself has been the sanest thing I have ever done in my life, no matter how many people try to shut me up. Remaining silent is guaranteed only to change nothing at all.

Read the whole article here, and let me know what you think!

8 thoughts on “New blog post at GUTS Magazine

  1. Liane, thank you for writing this post. You are incredibly courageous. My daughter turned 14 today and I can remember the day she was born when I looked down at her beautiful face scared about what she would face in our sexist world. I am more scared as the years roll on and I see so little change. Your story turns my stomach and makes me angry, but it also gives me hope. You are a role model. I wish you continued strength. Christine

  2. Dear Liane,
    thank you so much for writing and most importantly publishing this piece.
    As someone who also works in a male-dominated field, I felt like I was reading my own story.
    I am sure your words resonate with so many of us, and it’s very very important to hear from each and every one of us. This makes us stronger.
    I admire your persistence and fight for your rights and respect!

    Thank you for standing up and disappointing the Boys Club!

  3. Hi Liane,
    Your article was very inspiring. Although I am not in a workplace that is prodominatly male – I was in education and was a school administrator- a Principal. I have filed an EEOC complaint (US Fedral gov’t) and with the NY Sfate Dept of Human rights against my school district for gender based discrimination and retaliation in regard to my denial of tenure and termination. I was an excellent employee and had stellar evaluations and reputation in the school community.
    As soon as I complained of a male employee that I supervised being insubordinate, verbally harassing me and ultimately started grabbing me by he shoulder to from behind , there were sudden issues with my work. My superintendent told me to over look this man’s behavior and that I needed to “roll up my sleeves”.
    I’ve been given the right to sue in Federal court. My lawyers are ready to proceed. We’ve tried to negotiate with the board of education but they continue to be silent through the process.
    I’m sad for my profession and I am sad for my daughter. I’m sad for communities that just cast women away and don’t realize that environments like this will treat all women in this manner.
    I’ve witnessed and experienced the silence of women in my profession too. They fear the retaliation that they watched happen to me- so they’ve remained quiet. Although it is interesting that since this happened to me- a few other women have recently come forward and seem to be seeking counsel too.
    I wish you luck in your situation.

    • Hi Patty, Thank you for responding. Any women who speak out about harassment are trail blazers and until it becomes safer for us to do so, we will have to do it regardless of the backlash we receive. Make sure you remind yourself everyday that there is nothing wrong with you – it’s THEM not you. I’m glad that other women are seeing the light and waking up and coming forward. I noticed that as well with my work, but it took a number of years. Women like us do make a difference. Keep going, your a role model.

      • You misspelled lessen. I enjoyed reading the article and often find myself living vilaoiruscy through your adventures. It’s been a long time and I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

